Ethan Martin – #WhyIFly

Awesome facts about Ethan!

-He and his buddies performed at OSH 2016! There is a movie in production about it. Head to support the movie!

 https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/295319453/paradigm-aerobatic-road-to-airventure-2016-documen

-He flies Paramotors! Whats a Paramotor you ask?!

Paramotor is a generic name for the propulsive portion of a powered paraglider (“PPG”). It consists of a frame that combines the motor, propeller, harness (with integrated seat) and cage. It provides two attachment points for the risers of a paraglider wing that allows for powered flight. — via Wikipedia.

Now to the awesome #whyifly stor on @ethanmartin37!

Hi, my name is Ethan Martin (@ethanmartin37), I live in Wisconsin, I’m 23 years old and I love flying. Specifically I love flying my Powered Paraglider.

20151025_082638-01.jpeg

My Dad has always been an aviation enthusiast and along with my younger brothers I inherited a passion for anything that flies. Slow, light, single engine aircraft and ultralights always had a special appeal for me. The low, slow, fun flying was exactly the type of flying I wanted to do and even as little kid I knew one day I would fly something like that.IMG_1495-01.jpeg

One summer my three younger brothers and I (ranging in age from 13 to 19 at the time) decided we had dreamt about flying long enough and it was time to make it happen. And after finding Powered Paragliders online we knew exactly what we wanted to fly. Over the course of the next year we (including my Dad) learned to fly together and each bought our own set of equipment. Before we knew it our dream of flying together and exploring the countryside from above was reality.

IMG_2025-01

I quickly fell in love with unique flying experience Powered Paragliding has to offer. The sensation of running across the ground and into the air is simply amazing, and nothing makes me feel as much like a bird as the open air and simplicity of flying these craft. There is not cockpit, no instruments and no yoke. It’s simply me, sitting in a harness and hanging from strings with a small two stroke motor pushing me smoothly through the air. When I’m flying I literally forget about my equipment, the glider and motor simply become an extention of my body and I become fully immersed in the experience. On a calm summer morning or evening my favorite thing to do is fly low across the fields, dodging trees and skimming inches above the earth.

IMG_1751-01.jpeg

From the very start I’ve always pushed myself to be the best pilot I can be. From refining my takeoff, landing and glider control skills to inflight precision and aerobatics. You might not think it looking at our fabric wings and lines, but our aircraft are fully aerobatic and capable of spins, barrel-rolls and a host of other maneuvers. This year my brothers and I had the opportunity to fly in the Airventure Oshkosh 2016 airshow as part of the Paradigm Aerobatic team. Flying in the world’s greatest airshow with a team of the best Paraglider pilots from around the world is something I was thrilled to be a part of and will never forget. 

IMG_2003-01-1.jpg

The adventures I’ve had in the sky with my Dad and four brothers in the last few years have been incredible. From long cross country flights across the rolling landscape of SW Wisconsin and flying next to eachother high above the clouds, to performing aerobatics in front of hundreds of thousands of people, I’m always excited find out what adventure awaits us next.

snapseed-12.jpeg

Thank you for reading @EthanMartin37 Why I Fly sotry! Interested in sharing your story!? Email us at pilottopilothq@gmail.com!

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Very cool story and content!

    Like

Leave a Reply

